Short description

The TC on “Travel Information and Traffic Management” is affiliated with the IEEE ITS Society (ITSS) as a TC member in the ITSS family. The TC has been motivated to address the challenges in revolutionizing the way the traveling public travel from place to place and improving travel time reliability by providing the timely reliable traffic and traveler information. With the rapid development of emerging disruptive technologies (e.g., Internet of Things – IoT, Connected Automated Vehicles – CAV, bike sharing, electronic bus, Uber, Zipcar, and artificial intelligence – AI, as well as machine learning techniques), it is high time to contemplate how we can modernize our traveler information and traffic management to collectively extend the competitive edge well into the next decade. Therefore, the TC activities during 2017-2018 will be focused on Smart City challenge, connected automated vehicles and other disruptive transportation technologies, relevant data analytics and traffic network resilience, and relevant safety, mobility and environmental impact issues.


  • Heng Wei, University of Cincinnati


  • Xuesong Zhou, Arizona State University
  • Javier J. Sánchez Medina, University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain

Work Plan for 2017

During the 2017, the current TC on TTM is planned to rebuild its officer rules of the committee membership to resume its viability with promoted new development plan for 2018. Despite the special transition period in 2017, the technical committee members are playing a critical role in planning or organizing some influential international activities on behalf of TC on TTM; for example, COTA International Conference of Transportation Professionals (CICTP 2017) to be held July 7-9, 2017, in Shanghai, China (Haizhong Wang, Chair of Conference Organization Committee, Editor-in-Chief of ASCE CICTP2017 Proceedings; Heng Wei, Member of Conference Organizing Committee)

Second Smart City-Driven Traffic Information Engineering and Control Discipline Development Forum to be held on July 8, 2017 in Shanghai (Heng Wei and Guohui Zhang, Co-Chairs of the Program Committee)

World Transport Convention to be held June 4-5, 2017 in Beijing, China (Heng Wei, Chair of Energy and Environment Session under Track IV Transportation Planning)

Committee Members List

  • Dr. Zhixia Li, Assistant Professor, University of Louisville, USA
  • Dr. Nitin Maslekar, Research Scientist, ITS Group, NEC Laboratories Europe, Germany
  • Dr. Byungkyu (Brian) Park, Associate Professor, University of Virginia, USA
  • Dr. Haizhong Wang, Assistant Professor, Oregon State University, USA
  • Dr. Xuesong Wang, Professor, Tongji University, China
  • Dr. Jianming Ma, Sr. Engineer, TxDOT, USA
  • Dr. Xuedong Yan, Professor, Beijing Jiaotong University, China
  • Dr. Meng Li, Associate Professor, Tsinghua University, China
  • Dr. Zhen (Sean) Qian, Assistant Professor, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Professor Jianjun Shi, Beijing University of Technology, China
  • Dr. Guohui Zhang, Assistant Professor, University of Hawai’i at Manoa, USA
  • Dr. Xuefu (Frank) Zhou, Associate Professor, University of Cincinnati, USA
  • Dr. Hao Liu, Postdoc Researchers, PATH, University of California-Berkeley, USA
  • Dr. Xuewei (Tony) Qi, Researcher and PI, Center for Environmental Research & Technology, University of California-Riverside
  • Dr. Harikishan Perugu, Research Engineer, California Air Resource Board, USA