The ITS Outstanding Application Award is given to those who have made significant and outstanding contributions to the application of ITS-related technologies in practical fields. This award was established to recognize, promote, stimulate and publicize major application-focused contributions and outstanding achievements in ITS-related fields.


For those who have made significant and outstanding contributions to the application of ITS related technologies in practical fields. This award is established to recognize, promote, stimulate and publicize major research contributions and outstanding achievement in ITS related fields. (Established in 2010)


$1,000 and certificate of award.


Candidates should be active members of IEEE as well as IEEE ITSS Society. For group nominations, the lead member of the group should be an active member of IEEE as well as IEEE ITSS Society.

Basis for Judging

Significance, impact, innovation, and quality of ITS applications in practical systems. Each factor will be ranked on a scoring scale of 1 to 10, with 1 being the best and 10 being the worst. The scores from each selection committee member are collected and the candidate receiving the lowest average score is the winner.


ITSS annual ITS conference.

Past Awards

2023Hong Chen, Tongji University, China
For contributions to application of model predictive control to ADAS for intelligent vehicles
2022Markus Lienkamp (on behalf of the TUM Autonomous Motorsport Team), Technical University of Munich, Germany
For contributions to the development and deployment of software for handling a vehicle autonomously at the limits
2021Long Chen and his team: Fei-Yue Wang, Yunfeng Ai, Bin Tian, Dongpu Cao, Xiao Wang, Li Li, Lingxi Li, Jian Wang, Yu Gao, Rui Zhou, Ziyu Pan, Guoxu Ding, Jinsong Guo, Chenghua Yang, Shi He, Waytous Inc.
Contributions to implementation of ACP-oriented parallel autonomous mining system
2020Matthias Schulze, Visteon Electronics
Contributions to the Development and Deployment of ADAS and Autonomous Driving Technologies
2018Markos Papageorgiou, Technical University of Crete
For contributions in vehicle automation and communication systems and applications
2016Christoph Stiller, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
KITTI Benchmark and Bertha Autonomous Vehicle

Team Leader: Fei-Yue Wang, The State Key Lab of Management and Control for Complex Systems at CASIA
Consortium: QAII, Qingdao Public Safety Bureau, CASIA, HiSense, NUDT, and Tsinghua University
ACP-based Qingdao Parallel Urban Traffic Management and Control System


Uwe Franke & his team: Markus Enzweiler, Dariu Gavrila, Stefan Gehrig, Tilo Schwarz, and Fridtjof Stein, Daimler AG,
Daimler Image Understanding Group

2013Miguel Ángel Sotelo
VISUALISE, University of Alcalá, SPAIN
2012Wei-Bin Zhang
California PATH Program, Institute of Transportation Studies, University of California at Berkeley
Citation: For Contributions in Applications of Advanced Vehicle Control and Safety Systems and Technologies
Intelligent Transportation Systems Program, Massachusetts Institute or Technology, USA
2010Hani Mahmassani, William A. Patterson
Chair in Transportation, Northwestern University
2009Fei-Yue Wang
2008Petros A. Ioannou
2007Panos Michalopoulos