The ITS Institutional Lead Award is given to those who have made significant and outstanding contributions to the research and applications of ITS-related technologies. This award was established to recognize, promote, stimulate, and publicize major contributions to institutional ITS leadership.


For those who have made significant and outstanding contributions to the research and applications of ITS related technologies. This award is established to recognize, promote, stimulate and publicize major research contributions and outstanding achievement in ITS related fields. (Established in 2010)


$1,000 and certificate of award.


For group nominations, the lead member of the group should be an active member of IEEE as well as IEEE ITSS Society.

Basis for Judging

Significance, impact, innovation, and quality of ITS applications in practical systems. Each factor will be ranked on a scoring scale of 1 to 10, with 1 being the best and 10 being the worst. The scores from each selection committee member are collected and the candidate receiving the lowest average score is the winner.


ITSS annual ITS conference.

Past Awardees

2023Long Chen and his team: Yunfeng Ai, Bin Tian, Jian Wang, Lingxi Li Waytous Inc., China
For leading the development of autonomous driving technology and its applications in unmanned mining.
2022No award given
2021Center for Connected Multimodal Mobility (C²M²) - Clemson University
Director: Mashrur “Ronnie” Chowdhury
Citation: Contributions to cyber-physical transportation systems by addressing sensing, communication and computing aspects of computerized mobility
2020The Bourns College of Engineering, Center for Environmental Research & Technology (CE-CERT) - University of California, Riverside
Director: Matthew Barth
Citation: Contributions to Environmental Technologies to Improve Transportation, Air Quality, and Energy Efficiency
2019Robesafe Lab, University of Alcalá
Director: Luis Miguel Bergasa
2017TU Delft Automated Research Program
Director: Bart van Arem
Citation: For leading the development of connected and autonomous vehicles
2015LISA: Laboratory for Intelligent and Safe Automobiles
Director: Professor Mohan M. Trivedi
2014Institute of Artificial Intelligence and Robotics
Xi’an Jiaotong University
2013Chris Urmson
Google Self-Driving Car Team, Google, USA
2012Institute of Automotive Engineering, TU Darmstadt
Citation: For Institutional Leadership in Research and System Engineering for Advanced Driver Assistance and Safety.
2011Dynamic Systems and Simulation Laboratory (DSSL)
The Technical University of Crete (TUC), Greece
2010CAST (Complex Adaptive Systems for Transportation) Lab
Chinese Academy of Sciences
2009NavLab, Carnegie Mellon University
2008VisLab, Parma University, Italy
2007PATH, University of California, Berkeley