Nominations will be accepted during the period March 1st to June 1st, 5pm PDT. During this period the nomination material will be accessible here.

Beginning this year, ALL award nominations and reference letters should be submitted online through the ITSS Website. All award nominations require THREE reference letters, which should be uploaded with the award nomination form on the website.

We encourage you to review the Award Nomination Checklist before beginning a nomination.

Please note, Award Nominations received in the previous two years (2021 and 2020) will be considered if the nominator expresses interest to re-nominate a candidate. Nominators can elect to use the same nomination form and letters of reference previously (by emailing Petros Ioannou) or to submit an updated nomination form on the website with the most recent achievements.


Purpose and Selection Criteria

The prestigious

are conferred annually to honor ITS researchers, practitioners, and research/development teams who have made significant contributions to research in ITS related fields (for ITS Research Award), developed and deployed successful ITS systems or implementations (for ITS Application Award), and demonstrated leadership in promoting ITS technologies (for ITS Institutional Lead Award). These awards have been established to recognize, promote, and publicize major research contributions, application innovations with real-world impact, and ITS institutional leadership.

​IEEE ITS Young Researcher/Engineer Award is in place to recognize early career contributions and leadership in research and/or application in ITS related fields. Eligible applicants should not be older than 40 years.

Nomination Materials

Each application must consist of the following materials:

  1. Online Nomination Form
  2. Three (3) reference letters from recognized peer researchers/practitioners


A dedicated selection committee will evaluate all qualified nominations for these IEEE ITS Awards. Awards will be announced at the ITSC conference where the recipients will give featured presentations of their work.

IEEE ITSS Best PhD Dissertation Award

Purpose and Selection Criteria

The IEEE ITSS Best Dissertation Award is given annually for the best dissertation in any ITS area that is innovative and relevant to practice. This award is established to encourage doctoral research that combines theory and practice, makes in-depth technical contributions, or is interdisciplinary in nature, having the potential to contribute to the ITSS and broaden the ITS topic areas from either the methodological or application perspectives.

Nomination Materials

Candidates for the IEEE ITS Best Dissertation Award should be nominated by the PhD advisor or member of the PhD committee and should include the following documents in PDF format:

  1. A doctoral dissertation written by the applicant in any language, no more than 18 months prior to the submission deadline
  2. A letter (maximum 2 pages) that describes the main contributions of the PhD thesis and why it deserves an award
  3. A recent CV of the candidate with a list of publications from thesis, if any
  4. A letter of support (maximum 2 pages) from a member of the PhD committee or external member who is familiar with the thesis and work of the candidate

Please use the nomination form and upload the requested material by June 1st of each cycle year.

Prize and Presentation

The winners will receive a cash prize and invitation to be recognized and present their work at the ITSC conference. Awardees’ work will be featured in ITSS Transactions, ITS Magazine, and ITS Newsletter, when appropriate.

Winners receive a cash prize of $2000 for first place, $1000 for second place, and $500 for third place.


A dedicated selection committee will evaluate all qualified applications for the IEEE ITS Best PhD Dissertation Awards and make selections.