The IEEE ITS Outstanding Research Award is given annually for ITS researchers, practitioners, and research/development teams who have made significant contributions to research in ITS related fields (ITS Research Award), developed and deployed successful ITS systems or implementations (ITS Application Award), and demonstrated leadership in promoting ITS technologies (ITS Institutional Lead Award). These awards are established to recognize, promote, and publicize major research contribution, application innovations with real-world impact, and ITS institutional leadership.

Past Awardees



2021 Hesham A. Rakha
Virginia Tech
Contributions to large-scale transportation system optimization, modeling and assessment
2020 Kazuya Takeda
Nagoya University
Contributions to Data‐centric Driving Behavior Modeling
2019 Dariu Gavrila
TU Delft
2018 N/A
2017 Azim Eskandarian
Virginia Tech
Contributions in Autonomous Systems and Intelligent Machines
2016 Matthew Barth
University of California, Riverside
Contributions to Environmentally-Focused Intelligent Transportation Systems
2015 Ümit Özgüner
The Ohio State University
2014 Nathan Gartner
University of Massachusetts Lowell
2013 Mohan Trivedi
University of California at San Diego, USA
2012 Petros Ioannou
University of Southern California
Citation: For Research Contributions in Advanced Vehicle Control Systems and Integration with traffic
2011 Fei-Yue Wang
CAST (Complex Adaptive Systems for Transportation) Lab, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China
2010 Sesbastian Thrun
Computer Science Department, Stanford University
2009 Pravin Varaiya
2008 Chelsea (Chip) C. White III
2007 Markos Papageorgiou
2006 Robert Fenton
Column 1 Value 16 Column 2 Value 16