TC Internet of Things in ITS Logo

Chair: Ziran Wang
Co-Chair(s): Qi Zhu

Short Description

This technical committee focuses on sharing the state-of-the-art design, models, algorithms, simulation, and field implementation of a wide range of IoT applications in ITS (such as digital twin and parallel driving), and identifies challenges as well as research needs, aiming to encourage cross-disciplinary cooperation.


The main research goals of the committee include the following:

  • Digital twin of intelligent vehicles
  • Software-defined vehicles
  • Vehicular cyber-physical systems (VCPS)
  • Cyber security of connected and automated vehicles
  • System design and field implementations of the Internet of Vehicles (IoV)
  • Parallel driving/transportation
  • Cloud computing and edge computing for connected vehicles
  • Remote driving
  • Artificial intelligence and big data application in urban mobility
  • Modeling and simulation tools for network computing and communication

Committee Activities

  • Organize conferences that have dedicated themes of promoting research on the Internet of Things in ITS.
  • Organize special sessions and workshops at well-established conferences to promote the research on the Internet of Things in ITS.
  • Organize special issues in IEEE ITSS journals to promote tresearch on the Internet of Things in ITS.
  • Invite more experts from diverse related backgrounds to join the technical committee.


  • Sept. 24-28, 2023: Our committee members Jia Hu and Ziran Wang co-organized the 3rd Workshop on Cooperative Driving in Mixed Traffic at the 26th IEEE International Conference on Intelligent Transportation Systems, Bilbao, Spain.
  • Jul. 9-13, 2023: Our committee members Ziran Wang and Qi Zhu co-organized the tutorial session on Edge Artificial Intelligence for Connected and Automated Vehicles at the 60th Design Automation Conference, San Francisco, CA, United States.
  • Jun. 4-5, 2023: Our committee members Xuesong Zhou (Organizing Committee Chair) and Ziran Wang (Organizing Committee Member) co-organized the TRB Innovations in Travel Analysis and Planning, Indianapolis, IN, United States.
  • Jun. 4, 2023: Our committee member Ziran Wang co-organized the 3rd Workshop on Internet of Things in Intelligent Transportation Systems at 2023 IEEE Intelligent Vehicles Symposium, Anchorage, AK, United States.
  • May. 17-19, 2023: Our committee members Weisong Shi (Program Chair), Shaoshan Liu & Ziran Wang (Technical Program Committee) co-organized the 1st IEEE International Conference on Mobility: Operations, Services, and Technologies (MOST), Detroit, MI, United States.
  • May. 9-12, 2023: Our committee members Lu Feng (Technical Program Chair), BaekGyu Kim (Publicity Chair), and Kyungtae Han & Chung-Wei Lin & Ziran Wang & Qi Zhu (Technical Program Committee) co-organized the 14th ACM/IEEE International Conference on Cyber-Physical Systems, San Antonio, TX, United States.
  • Apr. 26-28, 2023: Our committee member Ziran Wang (Poster/Demo Co-Chairs) co-organized the 2023 IEEE Vehicular Networking Conference (VNC), Istanbul, Turkiye.
  • Apr. 12, 2023: Our committee members Ziran Wang and Chen Lv co-organized and published the special issue on “Digital Twin and Parallel Intelligence for Intelligent Vehicles and Intelligent Transportation System” in IEEE Transactions on Intelligent Vehicles.

Committee Members

  • Qi Alfred Chen, University of California at Irvine, USA
  • Yiran Chen, Duke University, USA
  • Xuan Sharon Di, Columbia University, USA
  • Lu Feng, University of Virginia, USA
  • Kyungtae Han, Toyota Motor North America, USA
  • Jia Hu, Tongji University, China
  • Ruimin Ke, University of Texas at El Paso, USA
  • BaekGyu Kim, Daegu Institute of Science and Technology, South Korea
  • Lingxi Li, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, USA
  • Chung-Wei Lin, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Shaoshan Liu, Perceptin, USA
  • Chen Lv, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Rahul Mangharam, University of Pennsylvania, USA
  • Jibonananda Sanyal, Oak Ridge National Lab, USA
  • Chris Schwarz, University of Iowa, USA
  • Weisong Shi, University of Delaware, USA
  • Guoyuan Wu, University of California at Riverside, USA
  • Bowen Zheng,, USA
  • Xuesong Zhou, Arizona State University, USA