TC Planning and Control of Transportation and Logistic Networks Logo

Chair: Cecilia Pasquale
Co-Chair(s): Alberto Petrillo

Short Description

Logistic and transportation networks are characterized by a high degree of complexity in terms of organization, administration and technologies, thus requiring focused attention both by researchers and industry partners. The development of innovative approaches is now becoming more and more pressing, due to the necessity of managing logistic and transportation systems in an efficient, synchronized and integrated way towards smart, safe and sustainable mobility environments.


The main scope of the PCTLN-TC activities regards the development of optimization and control methods/tools for the analysis, supervision, planning and management of logistic and transportation systems. The main topics of interest for the TC include (but are not limited to):

  • Planning and management of seaports and terminals
  • Planning and control problems in transportation networks
  • Maritime transportation planning and control
  • Cooperative logistics
  • Multimodal transport modelling, monitoring and control
  • City logistics
  • Automated terminals
  • Sustainability challenges in transportation and logistics
  • Synchromodal logistics
  • Supply chain management
  • Information systems for logistic and transportation systems

Committee Activities

  • contact of new members (especially for under represented areas)
  • identification of members with specific roles (e.g., editorial activity, contacts with industry, TAB strategic plan and new initiatives, …)
  • organization of editorial activities (special sessions already planned)
  • organization of the TC meeting (at ITSC2024)
  • organization of webinars


  • Organization of the Invited Session “Traffic Control and Connected Autonomous Vehicles: benefits for efficiency, safety and beyond” at ITSC 2030, Organizers: C. Pasquale, A. Petrillo, S. Santini, S. Siri

Committee Members

  • Mostafa Ameli, Université Gustave Eiffel Paris, France
  • Claudia Caballini, Polytechnic of Turin, Italy
  • Graziana Cavone, Roma Tre University, Italy
  • Arnaud de La Fortelle, MINES ParisTech Center for Robotics, France
  • Maria Laura Delle Monache, University of California, Berkeley, USA
  • Giovanni De Nunzio, IFP Energies nouvelles, France
  • Dimos Dimarogonas, KTH, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Mariagrazia Dotoli, Polytechnic of Bari, Italy
  • Maria Pia Fanti, Polytechnic of Bari, Italy
  • Antonella Ferrara, University of Pavia, Italy
  • Petros Ioannou, University of Southern California, USA
  • Karl Henrik Johansson, KTH, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Evangelos Kaisar, Florida Atlantic University, USA
  • Andreas Malikopoulos, Cornell University, USA
  • Jonas Mårtensson, KTH, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Rudy Negenborn, Technical University of Delft, The Netherlands
  • Marco Rinaldi, Technical University of Delft, The Netherlands
  • Simona Sacone, University of Genova, Italy
  • Stefania Santini, University of Napoli Federico II, Italy
  • Mauro Salazar, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands
  • Antonio Sciarretta, IFP Energies nouvelles, France
  • Silvia Siri, University of Genova, Italy
  • Raphael Stern, University of Minnesota,USA
  • Simon Tamayo, MINES ParisTech Center for Robotics
  • Francesco Viti, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  • Gioele Zardini, ETH Zürich, Switzerland